NaPoWriMo #3: ‘Don’t Care’

There is a trend to these late nights. There is no bend in these long days.

images

 

(there is a metaphor here I don’t care to explore right now. Maybe next poem)

Don’t Care
By Maggie McGinity

I don’t care about mud.
I don’t care about dirt.
I just care about fast legs walking
Over a concrete hurt.

I don’t care about right or wrong
I just care about me
‘Cause I’ve given away too much of my song
In exchange for misery

I don’t care about push and pull
I don’t care about force
I just want to drain my skull
And halve my hearts divorced

I don’t care about yes or no
I just need a way out
Not enough time to let things go
Held up (only) by doubts”

Quotes:

“Where am I supposed to hide now?
What am I supposed to do?
You still don’t think I’m going see this through

Tell me I’m a part of history
Tell me I can have it all
I’m still to tired to care and I gotta go”
-“Zzyzx Rd.” by Stone Sour

“You say
Love is a temple
Love a higher law
Love is a temple
Love the higher law

You ask me to enter
But then you make me crawl
And I can’t be holding on
To what you got
When all you got is hurt ”
-“One” by U2

Leave a Reply

