NaPoWriMo #4: ‘Tread Lightly(on my heart)’

There are some things you should not say, but you can write. And this is good, for the first reaction is rarely right. Thought, breath, pause, knowing the cause, is better; than shouting out words better left in an unsent letter(i.e. a poem).

Image

 

Tread Lightly(on my heart)
By Maggie McGinity

Tread lightly on my heart
Do not walk with heavy step
Do not set in stone
Words you think are yours alone
Tread lightly on my heart

Tread lightly on my soul
It is a gray and soggy shoal
Dividing waters without and waters within
Holding touches tiny as a pin
(Re)marks remain past folly of the foal
Tread lightly on my soul

Tread lightly on my dreams
They are thin and break
So easily
Few readily
Will dive into the lake
Barely mine to make
Tread lightly on my dreams

Tread lightly on my love
There’s so much (left) to prove
A wafting wind, a changing tune
May carry far the lost balloon
Gentle the landing, the handing, gentle
Know not if/when return this rental
If ever you should choose to move
Tread lightly on my love”

Quotes:

“Tread lightly, she is near
Under the snow,
Speak gently, she can hear
The daisies grow.”
-“Requiescat” by Oscar Wilde

“Had I the heavens’ embroidered cloths,
Enwrought with golden and silver light,
The blue and the dim and the dark cloths
Of night and light and the half-light,
I would spread the cloths under your feet:
But I, being poor, have only my dreams;
I have spread my dreams under your feet;
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.”
-“He Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven” by William Butler Yeats

 

One thought on “NaPoWriMo #4: ‘Tread Lightly(on my heart)’

Leave a Reply

