SPOILER ALERT NaPoWriMo #5: ‘Sitcon’ (new poem)

Hi. So if you watch How I Met Your Mother and you for some reason haven’t seen the How I Met Your Mother series finale, you should definitely not read this post. Definitely not read this post. Don’t read this post. Anyways, I don’t really give away any concrete things, there are just a few hints and a general mood to the poem that will reveal some things that you might not want spoiled for yourself if you haven’t seen the series finale yet.

Anyways, this picture kind of describes how I felt during the finale and for quite a while after.

Image

Many a dried teardrop on those glasses.

And here is the poem:

Sitcon
By Maggie McGinity

I can’t deal with this.
I’ve taken many blows before
For things that don’t exist.
But this?
This is the biggest con.
Years of trust gone on too long
All gone
In a blink
And few dry after
Years of laughter
Ripped aside, torn asunder
And I am left to wonder
Why?

How can I go back, look back, how?
You’re robbin’ me of my faith right now.
The only way I could relate …
It’s too late

Late.
Late.
Late.”

Quotes:
“I want to break free
I want to break free
I want to break free from your lies
You’re so self-satisfied I don’t need you
I’ve got to break free
God knows, God knows I want to break free.”
-“I Want to Break Free” by Queen

“Mother said,
‘Straight ahead,’
Not to delay
or be misled.
I should have heeded
Her advice…
But he seemed so nice.”
-“I Know Things Now” from “Into the Woods”

Leave a Reply

