NaPoWriMo #8: ‘Lie in iT’

Do you know what the picture means?
Tried to make it a sinking scene
But it didn’t work as a photo
Close-up’s the way to go

Image

Lie in iT
By Maggie McGinity

If I make my bed, may I lie in it?
Close my eyes and cry in it?
Flail, thrash, and fry in it?
Escape by and by in it?
If I make my bed, may I lie in it?

No. The made bed must not be
Though sheets are warm and freshly clean
The words need pouring out
(and out and out and out)
The thoughts need writing down
(and down and down and down)
‘fore morning comes around

Night falls
And I crawl
‘Tween task and task and task
So many things real
Before I can peel
The layers of this mask

And yet the sleep attacks

Deeper and deeper the defeat
I want to lie in the warm sheets
Next to the cold wall
And fear nothing at all

Heating my own feet
I want to sleep in the warm sheets
Hand on the cold wall
And feel nothing at all”

Quotes:

“There is a time for many words, and there is also a time for sleep.” 
-“The Odyssey” by Homer

“Sleep is not on good terms with broken hearts. It will have nothing to do with them.” 
-Christopher Pike

Leave a Reply

