NaPoWriMo #10: ‘April Showers’

This is a calendar:

Image

 

You write things on it. And then you do them.

April Showers
By Maggie McGinity

When my friend Jenny
Cancelled the movie
I took my brother instead
That’s just the way I am
Once I make a plan
I can’t get it out of my head

And so this week
Makes me weak
Everything is gone
Though I saw, ahead, a few hours
It didn’t help the showers
This dark crowd has drawn

Day after day
The world finds a way
To crush my hopes and expectations
Laid out the night before
Living’s a well-practiced chore
Blank days barely vacations

Worse yet, the eraser residue
The crossed-off, penned-in, sure-you’d-do
Grasping at straws to stay afloat
As the words are un-wrote

It is very strange
This, schedule rearranged
Small, and large, every single change
Deadened deciders, damning derranged

Now what can I do or say?
Everyone’s acting a different way
Mourning the same
Series of days”

Quotes:

“The worst wounds, the deadliest of them, aren’t the ones people see on the outside. They’re the ones that make us bleed internally.”
-“Infamous” by Sherrilyn Kenyon

“Keep a light, hopeful heart. But ­expect the worst.” – Joyce Carol Oates

Leave a Reply

