NaPoWriMo #13: ‘Awakened’

Social media can be a wonderful tool.

Image

But not in the hands of fools.

Awakened
By Maggie McGinity

I awoke from a nightmare
To a nightmare
I’m so scared.

Sure, this seemingly innocent ping
Might not mean anything
But it could bring me to ruins
Too soon.
I too much have weathered.
I need every connection severed.
Forever.

This seemingly innocent thing
Can’t give me what I need
To survive

In the dream,
Like the scene,
No one is quite what they say or seem.
Triangle,
Like the bangles
I don’t wear,
Could twist, or tangle,
Too easily tear
And I don’t dare.

You were just trying to be cute
You don’t understand
And probably the point is moot
But I hate what you have shared.
Can’t leave it there.”

Quotes:

“Straight roads do not make skillful drivers.” – Paula Coelho

“We do not see things as they are. We see things as we are.” – Anais Nin

“Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.” – source disputed

Leave a Reply

