NaPoWriMo #20: ‘Pedestrian Ghost’

I’m sorry. The day grew too full to not miss this deadline, but I have a poem for it.

I went to New York City once when I was 16, and now I’m here at 22. Sometimes I wish that I could have walked those streets knowing then everything that I know now, but now I’m starting to wonder if I never actually missed a beat.

20140421-012544.jpg

Pedestrian Ghost
By Maggie McGinity

The ghosts of the feet
I walked with upon these streets
Slowly vanishing

All the memories,
Of you two, of her and me
Fading, lose their sting

I am different now
I couldn’t tell you quite how
But oh, I could sing.”

Quote:

“These vagabond shoes
Are longing to stray
Right through the very heart of it
New York, New York”
“New York, New York” by Frank Sinatra

Leave a Reply

