NaPoWriMo #23: ’35’

There’s a picture that would work really well with this post, but I’m not in possession of it. Hopefully I can ask for it tomorrow, I just wish that I had taken more.

Image

This one has nice silhouettes, though. Enjoy!

35
By Maggie McGinity

Let’s warm up, a lot
Then do a run-through
Listen for the trouble spots
Then try to smooth

But first, I’ll listen to the song
Whose mood I’ll build this poem upon

The second floor is too close to the ground
I’d rather be up or under
I sit still, against my will,
Look to the sky and wonder.

I feel so grounded,
Grounded mercilessly.
I’d rather still be flying,
Literal and figuratively

I have no fear of heights,
But reasonable fear of falling.
Those gaps are not tight
Enough, the borders calling.

No, I didn’t notice
How short these railings are
While I’m standing closest.
Guess the next floor’s not that far,

People all around
Who don’t seem to grasp the gravity
Of the moment they are standing on
And its sweet brevity

I will take the top row,
But it’s not like the top.
Something’s brewing that I know.
I keep chewing, but my ears won’t pop.

I am stuck in this reality
Where everything is planned for me,
Sometimes by me, so far in advance,
There is no give in this pre-Dead Week dance.

I’m not working, and it’s silly.
I just want to sit and dream,
Relive these little memories
Fore they fall through their fragile seams.”

Quotes:

“It is better to have your head in the clouds, and know where you are … than to breathe the clearer atmosphere below them, and think that you are in paradise.” – Henry David Thoreau

“I felt for sure last night
That once we said goodbye
No one else will know these lonely dreams
No one else will know that part of me
I’m still driving away
And I’m sorry every day
I won’t always love these selfish things
I won’t always live…
Not stopping…

It was my turn to decide
I knew this was our time
No one else will have me like you do
No one else will have me, only you

You’ll sit alone forever
If you wait for the right time
What are you hoping for?
I’m here I’m now I’m ready
Holding on tight
Don’t give away the end
The one thing that stays mine

Amazing still it seems
I’ll be 23
I won’t always love what I’ll never have
I won’t always live in my regrets”
-“23” By Jimmy Eat World

Leave a Reply

