NaPoWriMo #25: ‘In Ames Existent’

I’m having trouble writing today. I’m far too satisfied with my life right now, and ridiculously hopeful for tomorrow.

Image

“In Ames Existent
By Maggie McGinity

I found it today
The glasses case
I thought I’d left it there
And I was scared
That nothing from that place
Could exist in Ames

And before, the shirt
Which I’d worn first
Through the changing zones
Over suburbs flown

I wish I’d had more time
So I could exchange money
For things which I’d make mine
Cute or quaint or funny

These souvenirs
Too small I fear
I want to spend more there
For I am scared
That nothing from that place
Can exist in Ames

There I let myself go
In following, oh
And not worrying about
Figuring everything out

There was food, there was drink.
There was so much to think
Upon. There were words quickly gone
Days both short and long

These papers and photos
Are all I’ve to show those
Who were not there
And share that I’m so very scared
That nothing from that place
Will exist in Ames”

Quotes:

“I love New York, even though it isn’t mine, the way something has to be, a tree or a street or a house, something, anyway, that belongs to me because I belong to it.” – Truman Capote

“One belongs to New York instantly, one belongs to it as much in five minutes as in five years.”  – Tom Wolfe

Leave a Reply

