NaPoWriMo #27: ‘Sweet Hands’

To sleep or to actually try to catch up on all the homework I missed with a vacation and 3/24 (that’s 3 concerts in 24 hours) all in one week? That is the question. Maow.

Image

Sweet Hands
By Maggie McGinity

There is cinnamon
In the beds
Of my fingernails
I am hopeful
My hands will smell like apple pie
For days

My head is full of hairspray
My face is underneath the face
I wore today
I wore tonight
The smile to make things seem alright

And looking back
I can see what they saw
And looking forward
What am I looking forward to?

It’s funny
Little time and little money
Though my songs are sweet as honey
They can’t bring me what I want
What I hunt

But I have pictures
And I am richer for the memories they hold
I’ll have time soon
I just hope I won’t stay cold.”

Quotes:

“My hands are small I know
But they’re not yours, they are my own
But they’re not yours, they are my own
And I am never broken”
-“Hands” by Jewel

“Memory
All alone in the moonlight
I can smile at the old days
I was beautiful then
I remember
The time I knew what happiness was
Let the memory live again”
-“Memory” from “CATS” by Andrew Lloyd Webber

“I want to know if love is wild 
I want to know if love is real”
-“Born to Run” by Bruce Springsteen

Leave a Reply

