NaPoWriMo #28: ‘With clouds in her eyes’ & ‘Acquaintance’

Sometimes I like to listen to love songs and pretend that I’m in love with someone, instead of in this endless chain of likely fruitless crushes. I should be focusing on my schoolwork. I don’t know what I’m doing.

Image

 

Anyways. I’m writing two poems today. Because I can. While I can. Enjoy!

With clouds in her eyes
By Maggie McGinity

Please remind me
The world is not as I see
Things are not as I hear
For these little ears
Give more pause
To any cause
Which might bring to life my fears
Draw out and down my tears
Than to any cheery news
Which might change my dreary views”

Quotes:

“And in the naked light I saw
Ten thousand people, maybe more.
People talking without speaking,
People hearing without listening,
People writing songs that voices never share
And no one dared
Disturb the sound of silence.

‘Fools,’ said I, ‘You do not know –
Silence like a cancer grows.
Hear my words that I might teach you.
Take my arms that I might reach you.’
But my words like silent raindrops fell
And echoed in the wells of silence”
-“The Sound of Silence” by Simon and Garfunkel

“Come a little closer, then you’ll see
Come on, come on, come on
Things aren’t always what they seem to be
Come on, come on, come on
Do you understand the things that you would see here?
Come on, come on, come on
Do you understand the things that you’ve been dreaming?”
-“Come a Little Closer” by Cage the Elephant

“Acquaintance
By Maggie McGinity

I’m just looking

Around and around and around
Mind me not.

Groups of people
Overly enthusiastic
I’m not exactly sure where I belong
Nothing seems to stay for very long
Gotta go now, sing a new sad song

Bad days cannot stay
Over and over, will not remain
You tell yourself this is true

Cannot stay, no no
Rage not, oh no
Around and around me, you look
Zero is the time it took
You’re too open, book.”

Quotes:

“Sweet like candy to my soul
Sweet you rock
and sweet you roll
Lost for you I’m so lost for you”
-“Crash Into Me” by Dave Matthews Band

“And if you don’t love me now
You will never love me again
I can still hear you saying
You would never break the chain.”
-“The Chain” by Fleetwood Mac

Leave a Reply

