New poem: ‘Duality’

Good morning!

morning_purple_sunrise-t1

In the last 24 hours, I’ve gotten 10 hours of sleep, and had delicious espresso with blackberry and white chocolate syrup. Finals week is kind of awesome, because I just have a few really hard things to do, but I’m allowed to do nothing else except a few (15-20) hours of work this week. So yesterday was actually a day I’d dreaded all year, that turned out to be awesome sauce.

Speaking of awesome sauce, I’ve had some really weird dreams recently. I’ve had a dream within a dream, and early this morning I experienced some kind of synesthesia, maybe. I associated different colors with different noises my various phone alarms make.

Anyways, everything is novel and different and exciting yet relaxing right now, and it makes a fantastic creative environment. Enjoy!

Duality
By Maggie McGinity

I’m in love with you
I’m in love with two

Or three, or four,
Or maybe more?

Not really in love,
But in love with the idea of

I’m so far from the steeple
But my life is so full of such wonderful people
How could I help but to love?”

Quotes:

I’m gonna take you out tonight
I’m gonna make you feel alright
I don’t have a lot of money but we’ll be fine
No I don’t have a penny but I’ll show you a real good time

Cos I know how it feels to be alone
When strangers only make you feel the cold
You never ever felt so far from home
You never felt so far from home”
-“New in Town” by Little Boots

“An unarticulated crush is very different from an unrequited one, because at least with an unrequited crush you know what the hell you’re doing, even if the other person isn’t doing it back. An unarticulated crush is harder to grapple with, because it’s a crush that you haven’t even admitted to yourself. The romantic forces are all there — you want to see him, you always notice him, you treat every word from him as if it weighs more than anyone else’s. But you don’t know why. You don’t know that you’re doing it. You’d follow him to the end of the earth without ever admitting that your feet were moving.”
-“Geektastic: Stories from the Nerd Herd” by David Levithan

Leave a Reply

