New Poem: ‘Dancing over me’

So I’m moving into a new room tomorrow. This is my last chance to post this.

Image

Dancing over me
By Maggie McGinity

The Air flows by and by
The Black Cranes dancing in the sky
And I, oh I, oh my,
Can’t help but wonder why

They are my nighttime sea
The dark cranes dancing over me
Cannot float or fly free
Their mass shape a mystery

The cranes their dances doth repeat
I pray the air will bring some heat
For from my head down to my feet
I shiver ‘neath the seemly sheets

I huddle down, and round my nape
The dark does hide all curvy shapes
Far below my layered capes
Neither cranes nor I escape.”

Quotes:

“When I wake up I’m afraid, somebody else might take my place 
When I wake up I’m afraid, somebody else might end up being me”
-“Afraid” by The Neighborhood

“Or am I origami, folded up and just pretend
Demented as the motives in your head

I would swallow my pride, I would choke on the rinds
But the lack thereof would leave me empty inside
I would swallow my doubt turn it inside out
Find nothin’ but faith in nothin’
Want to put my tender heart in a blender
Watch it spin around to a beautiful oblivion
Rendezvous then I’m through with you”
– “Inside Out” by Eve 6

Leave a Reply

