Slowing My Life Down: a speedy, then stalled, stroll through the woods

Tonight, in an effort to assist my diet, keep up with exercise trends, and indulge in one of my favorite habits, avoiding my problems and stress by LITERALLY walking away from them, I took an after-dinner walk to and partially through Munn Woods, which is very near my current sublease.

It was gorgeous and green and luscious. I, like usual, was in a hurry, so I power-walked over the paths while listening to some of my favorite tunes. I considered taking my earbuds out to listen to the creek, but couldn’t be bothered with it.

Having a little extra time, I took a trail along the creek until I ran into a fallen tree blocking my path, and took this as a sign to return to the trail to the entrance. On my way, I considered watching more of The Lizzie Bennet Diaires, a modern Web adaptation of “Pride and Prejudice.” I started watching it yesterday; I’m already on Episode 35.

Though my behavior of obsessive consumption and binge-watching through a series is now culturally common and even encouraged, I quickly reconsidered this acceptance of excess in my life. I’m so often trying to rush through everything, be it my education, my rehearsals, even my leisure time. I’m thinking about the next thing on my schedule or agenda while doing the current one.

This isn’t true all the time, but a lot of the time I want to get through things as quickly as possible. And on this walk, still speed-walking, I realized that I don’t want to rush through my life anymore. A few intense hours/days/weeks/months of focus, obsession and speed to achieve something is kind of terrible for my educational, occupational, lifestyle, and even romantic aspirations and for their long-term success.

As I was pondering this, I saw a deer standing on the bridge 20 feet away, which I would soon have to walk over. I stopped and gasped. The deer moved away and I cautiously moved to the bridge, looking around. I saw a few deer, very unconcerned with and unafraid of me. I was very afraid that their buck would appear at any time, but he never did. I slowly made my way out of the woods, and returned here to tell my story through these pictures:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So I’m slowing my life down. I’m going to enjoy my moments and not worry so much about my timelines, schedules, and deadlines. That’s not to say that I’m not staying on top of all the things I need to do this summer. It’s just that all shall be done in moderation, at my own pace and tempo, and I shall neither discount nor overdo leisure time.

Quotes:

“In all of living, have much fun and laughter. Life is to be enjoyed, not just endured.”  – Gordon B. Hinckley

“Do anything, but let it produce joy.”
-“Leaves of Grass” by Walt Whitman

“Even in the mud and scum of things, something always, always sings.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Leave a Reply

