New poem: ‘Ames is Nice’

Flash poetry on my lunch break! And no, this has nothing to do with that very interesting Ames propaganda video making it’s way around the criticisms of the internet. This poem is about me, where I am, and where I want to be.

Ames is Nice
By Maggie McGinity

Just take me back to the streets of New York
Let me get fat on the eats of New York
Waste all my cash on theatre seats in New York
Gone in a flash, all the treats of New York.”

Quote:

“I get the news I need on the weather report.
I can gather all the news I need on the weather report.
Hey, I’ve got nothing to do today but smile.
Da-n-do-da-n-do-da-n-do here I am,
The only living boy in New York.
Half of the time we’re gone but we don’t know where,
And we don’t know where.

Tom, get your plane right on time.
I know that you’ve been eager to fly now.
Hey let your honesty shine, shine, shine
Da-n-da-da-n-da-n-da-da
Like it shines on me.
The only living boy in New York,
The only living boy in New York.”
-“The Only Living Boy in New York” by Simon and Garfunkel

Leave a Reply

