New poem: ‘I Would Like’

I Would Like
By Maggie McGinity

I would like to go hiking, I think
Or maybe just walk around
I would like to go climbing till I’m
So high above the ground

I would like to go sleeping
On couches, and in beds
I’d like to go on weeping
Till the pain falls off my head

I would like to go breathing, I think
The cool, clean mountain air
The salty thick of sandy beach
The soggy, rainy prayer

I would like to go walking
Neath the shiny moon
I’d like to keep on talking
But never speak too soon

I would like to go on dreaming
Far beyond the month of June
Though I don’t know if this scheming
Will ever be a boon

I’d like to go on thinking
Round the sun and round the earth
Keep on thinking through
Straight from my death on to my birth.

(I’d like to go on living
Really, sometime soon,
And if you don’t mind,
And you’ve got the time,
Keep on living with you.)”

Quote:
“I’d like to waste a week or two
And never do a chore.
To wear my hair unfastened
So it billows to the floor.

To do the things I’ve dreamed about
But never done before!
Perhaps I’m bad, or wild, or mad,
With lots of grief in store,
But I want much more than keeping house!
Much more!”
-“Much More” from The Fantasticks

Leave a Reply

