New Poem: ‘Yours to Lose’ by Maggie McGinity

I’m going to church tonight :D. For Praise Band rehearsal. I don’t know if I’ve told you all this before, but for the past four years I’ve been a singer and occasional pianist and flutist for the Collegiate Presbyterian Church Praise Band. It’s a really great group, who are usually very supportive of my flute playing and other musical talents, support that’s lacking in some other groups of people in my life.

I don’t talk about my faith a lot, but I do have a lot of friends and even family members who are atheists, and as I get older, that’s starting to matter more and more. I’m still Presbyterian, but that’s not what I would be if certain people in my life had their way. Though I agree with Pope Francis on the matter of atheists, I do admit that keeping a faith in college is rather difficult, especially with the trends between intellectualism and atheism.

Anyways. I wrote a poem, and later on today’s Maggie Pick will be related to this as well. Enjoy!

Yours to Lose
By Maggie McGinity

Please do not hypothesize
About the way I live my life
Try to turn me to your side
When I never asked you to

Despite my generosity
The strength of your ferocity
Against so many parts of me
Only works against you

To preach that preachers preach to lock
But never step off your soapbox
To close your own ears, talk and mock
And judge those who learned judge not

If nothing I can say could ever change your mind
Not that I would ever try
If nothing I can say could change your mind
Why are you so Hell-bent on changing mine?

I don’t say which choice to choose
I don’t tell you what to do
You thought my faith was yours to lose
I’ve only lost my faith in you”

Quotes:

“Coincidence is God’s way of remaining anonymous.”
“Science without religion is lame, religion without science is blind.”
-“The World as I See It” by Albert Einstein

“‘Some people don’t understand the promises they’re making when they make them,’ I said.

‘Right, of course. But you keep the promise anyway. That’s what love is. Love is keeping the promise anyway.'”
-“The Fault in Our Stars” by John Green

Leave a Reply

