Maggie’s Pick 9.5.2014: ‘I’m With You’ by Avril Lavigne

Another twinning post linking Pick to poem. This time Pick comes first.

It’s a rainy day, and while I have, through much searching and discussion, selected many songs as being ideal for listening to on such a wet day as this, I only remembered this one today, via a playlist I made back in 2012. Interestingly enough, this song came out in 2002, a solid decade before that.

I have liked this song for about half of my life, which is weird for me. Anyways.

I don’t like the music video. I’ve seen this “I’m alone at the party, I’m walking alone and singing at the camera” format too many times, especially in music videos of the early 2000s. But I do really love this song, I just visualized it very differently in my own head. I would have actually put a bridge in the music video.

“I’m standing on a bridge
I’m waiting in the dark
I thought that you’d be here by now
There’s nothing but the rain
No footsteps on the ground
I’m listening but there’s no sound”

Also, “I don’t know who you are
But I… I’m with you”

 

One thought on “Maggie’s Pick 9.5.2014: ‘I’m With You’ by Avril Lavigne

Leave a Reply

