New Poem: “Dark Stages” by Maggie McGinity

A little bit more twinning with today’s pick. Centered around this lyric:
“If I hadn’t blown the whole thing years ago…”
 
This poem’s a bit long, but it’s where I’ve been today. Enjoy!
 
Dark Stages
By Maggie McGinity
 
You don’t know what you’re saying when you say them
Silly little statements
You don’t know what you’re seeing when you see them
Possible replacements
 

If only arm rhymed with warm
For that is what they are
Instead I am concealed
In this steel, spacious car

If I could hit reset,
Could I trade satisfaction
For regret?
This isn’t making sense yet
 
This life branching from one lunch
I never really had a hunch
There’s always so much social time crunch
I’ve always been behind the bunch
 
Did I commit too soon?
Yes and yes and yes, my doom
You can’t sweep people away
Like dust with a broom
The lies flat lay
Upon my loom 
 
Which is better or worse
A million little caskets
Or just one gilded hearse?
Either way, I’m basket
Because life is not rehearsed 
 
Take it back 8 years
Give me brains instead of fears
A new hope, different career
Who knows if I would end up here?
 
A different cast, a different choice
God willing, unafflicted voice
A different scene, perhaps set the same
God willing, called a different name
 
Across my lot of space and time
I’m left with songs, I’m left with rhymes
Which cannot keep me warm at night
Or even quell this hidden fight
 
As I dwell in ages
Long since gone
I monologue dark stages
From which others have moved on
 
And will I look back on this day and sigh
To not have seen Everything pass me by?”
 
Quotes:
 
“Cause all I really want is to be with you
Feeling like I matter too
If I hadn’t blown the whole thing years ago
I might be here with you…
 
The past is gone but something might be found
To take its place…”
-“Hey Jealousy” by The Gin Blossoms
 

“There’s an old voice in my head that’s holding me back
Well tell her that I miss our little talks
Soon it will be over and buried with our past
We used to play outside when we were young
And full of life and full of love.

Some days I don’t know if I am wrong or right
Your mind is playing tricks on you, my dear

‘Cause though the truth may vary
This ship will carry our bodies safe to shore”
-“Little Talks” by Of Monsters and Men

Leave a Reply

