New original song: “If You Were Home” by Maggie McGinity

Taking a brief break from the Picks this week to share some original music. Over this year, I’ve been occasionally writing/recording songs and posting them to Facebook. Very amateur, not nearly well-enough rehearsed, but songs nonetheless.

Not all of my followers are my friends on Facebook however. Some of them don’t even have Facebook. So I figured I should share some here too. I’ll also be recording a new new song sometime this week and posting it 🙂

This song is about a thought I had, to stop by and visit a certain set of sisters on my way to pick up a friend of mine who lived near them. That didn’t happen, but I started writing this song, and then I tailored it to fit more situations than just the one I wrote it about.

Originally posted February 23, 2014. Enjoy!

Lyrics:

Verse 1:
If you were here
I would stop by and say Hello
How does it go?
If you were near
I would pop in for a cup of tea
Or maybe just to sit and talk
You and me

Chorus 1:
But you’re not here
It’s not exactly clear
Just where you are
When you’re not near
I’m hoping you don’t stay too far
Away

Verse 2:
If you were there
I would pull up and knock on your door
But text you before
Play with your hair
Ask all the things that I don’t know
Like where did you go?

Chorus 2:
But you’re not there
It’s not exactly fair
Just where you are
Sometimes I get scared
That even when you’re near
You are so far
Away

Verse 3:
If you were home
I’d never have a bone to pick with you
What can I do?
Make you a poem
All that I own and that I knew
But that’s just not you

Chorus 3:
And you’re not here
It’s not exactly clear
Just where you are
When you’re not near
I’m hoping you won’t stay too far
Away
Away

One thought on “New original song: “If You Were Home” by Maggie McGinity

Leave a Reply

