New original song: “Common Ground” by Maggie McGinity

Hi everyone! I’m sorry I didn’t post this song yesterday. Last night time got away from me, and I was presented with many unique opportunities which I had to meet. I didn’t get a chance to record this until today.

It should be noted that I wrote this song in late August and early September 2014. It should also be known that in the chorus, “walking round and round” means walking around the same place all the time, but never running into each other, and also means skirting an issue. It does not mean walking around campus together (that’s post-song).

Lyrics:

Verse 1:
Never is a harsh word
But a true word
And this’ll never be the same
This life guarantees no rewards
It’s not a silly game
But you’ve got rules now
I’ve got rules too
Nowadays it seems our lives
Can’t find a way to coincide
So tell me what to do

Chorus:
Hope’s up
But communication’s down
Look for our memory
In my lost and found
Feels like these days
We’re just walking
Round and round and round
Our common ground

V2:
Never is a harsh word,
But a safe word,
For a pact is not a poem
Now I’m finding
As I’m moving forward,
A house is not a home
And there are rules here
That I can’t know
Nowadays it seems our lives
Are just a silly compromise
So should I let you go?

Chorus

Bridge:
It’s funny
Connections that you make
Connections that you break
And the rejections that you just can’t take
When will there come a day
When we can just be ok
With what we’ve got
And what we’re not?

Verse 3:
Never is a harsh word
But a true word
And this’ll never be the same
This heart guarantees no rewards
It’s not a silly game
But I’m a fool now
You’re a fool too
Nowadays it seems our lives
Are anything just to decide
So tell me what to do

Chorus

Outro:
Where can it be?
Can it be found?
Our common ground

In case you were wondering, the answer to the question at the end of Verse 2 is no. Definitely, definitely no. But some things you don’t know until you know 🙂

Leave a Reply

