New Poem: “Napery” by Maggie McGinity

Sometimes afternoon naps happen when I need them to. Sometimes afternoon naps do not happen when I need them to. This is one of the latter times. The exhaustion is great for writing, terrible for happiness.

Napery
By Maggie McGinity

I cannot sleep over their shouts and screams.
But it’s nice to lie here with closed eyes and dream.
I enjoy going over all my little schemes
To keep you, safely, within your seams.

I am glad for the job I couldn’t trust
To anyone else, though once thought I must.
For you are what you will not always wish to be,
And I do not rob, but aid gently to flee.

I am now the cliche they all sing of me,
And I take to this role with a goal, casually.
There’s truth in the songs of aged queens,
Though I see no ages in between.

So here I am. Here I retreat,
With hazy eyes and lazy feet.
Just lie here and simply repeat:
‘The dream is mine. No need for sleep.'”

The last couple of lines are a double entendre. One meaning is true, one meaning is false. I do truly need sleep.

Quotes:
“Wake up Maggie I think I got something to say to you
It’s late September and I really should be back at school …

You made a first-class fool out of me
But I’m as blind as a fool can be”
-“Maggie May” by Rod Stewart

“We’ll do it all
Everything
On our own
We don’t need
Anything
Or anyone”
-“Chasing Cars” by Snow Patrol
Leave a Reply

