Maggie’s Pick 10.22.2014: “Maggie May” by Rod Stewart

You know how when you’re fishtailing on black ice, people’s advice is always to “steer into the skid”? That’s kind of what I’m doing right now.

I have another series of 3 Picks inspired by my recent trip to my hometown. Within an hour of my arriving there, my mom and I went to the local grocery store to pick up some things before we picked up pizza for dinner. While driving out of that parking lot, my mother realized that the guy I’m dating is a whole 10 months younger than me (oh no!) and subsequently called me a “Cougar.”

So these are the Cougar Picks, and this is Cougar Pick 1. Welcome to my love/hate relationship with my namesake song, which I was NOT named after. My legal name isn’t even Maggie, this is just a nickname.

But yeah. As it turns out, this is actually a good song, and at some point I’ll memorize all the lyrics and deign to sing along with it when it comes on the radio.

Leave a Reply

