New Poem: “The Sadness of Spilt Macaroni” by Maggie McGinity

Sometimes I spend 4-5 hours in a kitchen baking and cooking, cooking and baking. It almost always goes well, but I don’t always enjoy it, especially when the company I keep is mainly dirty dishes. My dinner ended up looking a little like this:

penne-rosa-536

Anyways. I wrote a poem about it. Enjoy!

The Sadness of Spilt Macaroni
By Maggie McGinity

In my belly there is an emptiness
Which lends to my hands a leftiness
So they do not know
Quite where to go
And now have created this wholesome mess

If I were much younger
I could glue macaroni
Or string it around
My frame, small and boney

But I am grown old.
I can’t leave on the floor
The noodles too bold
To be used anymore

So I stir and I sweep
I sweep and I stir
Waiting for the timer
To tell me I’m sure

I fry and I chop
I chop and I fry
This will ever stop
Till the day that I die

There’s emptiness and fury
They’re telling me to hurry
I know I shouldn’t worry
With my stomach in a flurry

But at least not in knots
For I haven’t forgot
What I want’s not store-bought
Nor this fever I’ve caught

So mix noodles and veggies,
And eat this dinner messy.
These thoughts, too whole and heavy
Take much longer to get ready

My meal tastes like freedom
For I can feed myself
And others, too
If/when I choose
With little to no help

But in my belly there’s an emptiness
Even when it’s full
And a fire of swift silliness
Which no reason can cull

I need to get out of this kitchen
Before I pass out on the floor
And myself become a noodle
Of no use anymore.”

Quotes:
“To be a good cook you have to have a love of the good, a love of hard work, and a love of creating.”
-Julia Child, from “Particular Passions: Talks With Women Who Have Shaped Our Lives”

“There are only four great arts: music, painting, sculpture, and ornamental pastry- architecture being perhaps the least banal derivative of the latter.”
-“My Life in France” by Julia Child

“I am the tomato of grapes. I am the cherry of tomatoes. I am the red fruit of love that goes best in pasta.”
-“99 Cents for Some Nonsense” by Jarod Kintz
Leave a Reply

