New Poem: “Guessing Game” by Maggie McGinity

I’m an introvert, which means that I sometimes need mounds and mounds of alone time to feel like I’m at the proper energy levels and just think. However, I live in an extravert’s world. I think this might explain why everything seems brightest in the morning and slowly seems to become more stressful over the course of my people-packed days. When I wake up, I’ve just completed 6-8 hours of alone time.

I also write poems to figure stuff out. Another thing I learned about myself today. I didn’t know what was bothering me, so I wrote a poem about it, and I figured it out. This is that poem. Enjoy!

Guessing Game
By Maggie McGinity

Look at myself and don’t like what I see
Over and over, I tell these sad stories
Only doesn’t ever mean only
Selfish, and sometimes I’m so mean to me
Everyone else matters, simply.

Look in myself, don’t know what’s underneath
I can’t trust my lips, and I can’t trust my teeth
Pursuant to thoughts I safeguard and keep
Some things must wait, and some things must sleep

Sometimes I wonder what I should make out
In breathing these dreams and daring these doubts.
Never was a long time, but now I’m without,
Keen to stifle these screams and shouts.

Say what’s in your
Heart, but mine is
Incensed and a
Part of something I can’t name.
Save yourself (or I’ll save you) from this guessing game.”

Quotes:

“And I speak to you like the chorus to the verse
Chop another line like a coda with a curse
Come on like a freak show takes the stage
We give them the games we play, she said…

I want something else, to get me through this
Semi-charmed kinda life, baby, baby
I want something else, I’m not listening when you say good-bye

I believe in the sand beneath my toes
The beach gives a feeling, an earthy feeling
I believe in the faith that grows
And the four right chords can make me cry
When I’m with you I feel like I could die
And that would be alright, alright”
-“Semi-Charmed Life” by Third Eye Blind

“Run away with my heart
Run away with my hope”
-“Wherever You Will Go” by The Calling

Leave a Reply

