The House Showings and the Forced Clean Room

This is the Twinning post for my most recent Pick.

Some of you may remember when I began taking steps to stop and reverse my becoming a hoarder. This is also when I changed the title of my blog to its current title, Maggie Lives.

I wanted to give you a status update on how I’m doing organization-wise, living space and stuff-wise. Last week my property managers let us know that the house we’re renting would be shown to some prospective next-year tenants. They gave us a bit more than 24 hours notice, but I had work/class all day and then went home to confront my messy room. It took about 4 hours, done around a viewing of a terrible movie.

It’s amazing what the idea of strangers viewing your living space can do for getting it clean. This is what my room looks like now:

Bed made and clear of clothing/stuff.

Bed made and clear of clothing/stuff.

3-drawer storage containers closed and easily accessible.

3-drawer storage containers closed and easily accessible.

Look at that large portion of clear space on top of that dresser.

Look at that large portion of clear space on top of that dresser.

This is mostly yarn and knitting supplies. I know it doesn't look all that organized, but I know what is in there and where everything I need is located.

This is mostly yarn and knitting supplies. I know it doesn’t look all that organized, but I know what is in there and where everything I need is located.

Closet with laundry basket tucked neatly inside.

Closet with laundry basket tucked neatly inside.

Look at all that clear desk space. So much room for books and notes.

Look at all that clear desk space. So much room for books and notes.

My shoe collection is one of the most easily organized groups I own.

My shoe collection is one of the most easily organized groups I own.

Of course, the drawers, shelves and binders are largely unorganized inside, and there are a few boxes hiding some clothing I didn’t have time to sort. But it looks great, and it’s a good foundation for me to take on some smaller organizational projects, then return it to this functional layout and state of general cleanliness.

I just wanted to let you all know that I’m improving 🙂

Quotes:

“Clutter is not just the stuff on the floor – it’s anything that stands between you and the life you want to be living.” – Peter Walsh

“Clutter is nothing more than postponed decisions.” – Barbara Hemphill

Leave a Reply

