NaPoWriMo #1: “No Lemonade” by Maggie McGinity

I over-seasoned my dinner and didn’t eat enough of it and here we are.

463px-Lemonade_with_straws

No Lemonade
By Maggie McGinity

Lemon is a lovely color
Lemon holds a lovely taste
Don’t confuse with like-sounding other
Or the limonade will go to waste

Though often diluted
This world is polluted
With lemon sons and daughters
Whose frowns they keep
Set in so deep
They can’t move them when they ought’er

And still I’m lacking water

Sugar has a grainy texture
But sugar is a saving grace
And despite the longing lectures
Sweetness is saving face

Stir it in
It seems to be erased

I am neither spoon nor spooning
Over-seasoned, under-done
I don’t know how to join bitter and sweet
How to fuse fact and fun

I thirst for, under the sun,
A drink I do not build my life upon
A drink that will not leave me in the wrong
A seemingly simple solution
Though hard to perfect
This mixture is more than I’ve come to expect”

Quotes:

“It’s not hard to decide what you want your life to be about. What’s hard, she said, is figuring out what you’re willing to give up in order to do the things you really care about.”
-“Bittersweet: Thoughts on Change, Grace, and Learning the Hard Way” by Shauna Niequist

“Nothing is really work unless you would rather be doing something else.” – J.M. Barrie

“I had a dream about you. The sky was green and the ground was blue. You spoke a song and I sang my thoughts. We ate lemonade and drank cookies. It all made perfect sense.”
-“Dreaming is for lovers” by Melody Sohayegh

Leave a Reply

