NaPoWriMo #2: “Starting From Scratch” by Maggie McGinity

Kind of an acrostic, kind of an actual poem, all about how I haven’t written poetry a lot recently. My life is just a little bit too stable right now for a poem and/or song written every day without doing it intentionally. So I turn to my old standby of picking a message and then writing around it.

Starting From Scratch
By Maggie McGinity

So long, all this
Time, and
All gone. Reminisce,
Running my mind back to
Things I’ve said and done. I’m
Interested in nothing,
Not something I can specifically define. Going
Going is my mind.

Find me an answer
Ransom my attention
On my heart, I swear
My soul’s never mentioned

So now it seems I
Can’t move forward, can’t go back
Random, yet repetitive choices
All gather for attack
Tomorrow there may be a better match
Currently no plans to hatch
How is it I feel that I’m starting from scratch?”

Quote:

“Recreate your life, always, always.
Remove the stones, plant rose bushes and make sweets.
Begin again.” -Cora Coralina

Leave a Reply

