NaPoWriMo #6: “In pursuit of a thing which does not exist” by Maggie McGinity

In pursuit of a thing which does not exist
By Maggie McGinity

Some say it has four letters
Some say there’s always better
But I cannot believe that it’s not true

Some say you cannot control others
But for myself, there’s always another
Standard which I hold myself to

I believe it’s reachable
Though, I’m told, unteachable,
And foolish and heartbreaking to pursue

I won’t settle for second best
With each defeat, I feel less and less
Staring into the horizon for my due

Although it’s slow
And my waiting is so
Suspect
I do not go
Until I know
It’s perfect.”

Quote:

“But I am learning that perfection isn’t what matters. In fact, it’s the very thing that can destroy you if you let it.”
-“Something Borrowed” by Emily Giffin

Leave a Reply

