NaPoWriMo #12: “There My Waiting Never Dies” by Maggie McGinity

Poetry for the frustration of everyday living for people whose weekends don’t actually exist, but are filled up with things that demand all of their time and attention, even when they have other very important things to do.

There My Waiting Never Dies
By Maggie McGinity

Decline, rapid and steep
Oh day, this day, do not keep

Now I should be happy
Only smiling, cheering, laughing
This buzz could be better than caffeine

Woe, oh woe,
As time for productivity
Sits stale within captivity
Time disappears into a panic
Electronic tasks await to trick

Moments, recalled to be cherished and treasured,
Young, they wither, in minutes mis-measured

Take me back
Into words articulate
Make over this day
Everything else, fade away.”

Quote:

“Take me down to the paradise city
Where the grass is green and the girls are pretty
Take me home, yeah yeah
Take me down to the paradise city
Where the grass is green and the girls are pretty
Oh won’t you please take me home

So far away
So far away
So far away
So far away”
-“Paradise City” by Guns ‘N Roses

Leave a Reply

