NaPoWriMo #18: “Limbo” by Maggie McGinity

“Limbo
By Maggie McGinity

Should I be relieved?
Should I be disappointed?
Did I ever believe
I’d ever be appointed?

Limbo
Could suit me quite well for awhile
But it doesn’t go
With our usual style

I’m starting to fantasize about leaving
Taking all my things
They wouldn’t miss me
But the structure I bring

I’m starting to dream about running away
But away isn’t where I want to stay
No, not far away
It might be easier if I were a stray
But I’m not
At the strangest time
Every I wanted, I got

I’d like to walk and talk along new streets
But I don’t know where on Earth we could meet

Although limbo
Could suit me quite well for awhile
It doesn’t go
With our usual style

I’m scared that I’ve done the math wrong
And I’m scared of my own siren song
I’m scared misguided loyalty
Will take me away from me
I’m scared of connections I leave behind
I’m scared of notes and I’m scared of rhymes
I just want to be gone, I just want to be free
I just want you there with me”

Quote:

“She took a step and didn’t want to take any more, but she did.”
-“The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak

Leave a Reply

